VDRC-Nepal (Vijaya Development Resource Center)


VDRC-Nepal 32nd AGM 2017

VDRC-Nepal 32nd Annual General Meeting and 20th Convention

VDRC-Nepal has successfully organized its 32nd Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 07 October 2017. Key agenda items were sharing and approval of annual progress and financial reports for 2073/74 and program and budget for 2074/75 as well as distribution of Vijaya Awards. Following the AGM, the 20th Convention also elected the new Executive Committee for two year term.

Inaugural Session

The inaugural session of the AGM was chaired by Mr. Khem Raj Sapkota, Chairperson of the outgoing Executive Committee. Along with the Chairperson, Chief Guest Dr. Shesh Ghale (International Coordination Council President, Non-Resident Nepalese Association) and other invitees from NRNA, Past Presidents, and Inspiring Personalities were in the dais.

Ms. Laxmi Gautam, Vice-President of VDRC delivered the welcome speech. Mr. Basanta Raj Lamsal (CEO, Vijaya Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha) made an introductory presentation on Vijaya Group of Institutions comprising VDRC and five different organizations promoted by VDRC. The inaugural session was then addressed by Mr. Basu Dev Neupane (Coordinator, Advisory Committee); Mr. Keshab Prasad Sapkota (President, VYCCU); Mr. Dil Gurung (NRN, Europe); Mr. Trilochan Sapkota (International Coordinator, Vijaya Foundation-Nepal); Ms. Jamuna Ghale (NRNA ICC member); Ms. Ranju Wagle (Spokesperson, NRNA ICC) and Dr. Shesh Ghale (ICC President, NRNA).

This year, Vijaya Awards were presented to four personalities. The life-time contributions award was presented to Mr. Tilak Prasad Sapkota from among the senior members. The awards for valuable service and contribution in different categories went to Ms. Sharmila Khanal (Staff), Mr. Trilochan Sapkota (Member) and Mr. Krishna Prasad Sapkota (Executive Committee). Likewise, Mr. Tika Ram Kandel (Operations Director) and Ms. Shanti Bhusal Acharya (HR/Communication Associate) were felicitated for their long-standing service.

Annual General Meeting

Mr. Krishna Prasad Sapkota, Secretary presented annual progress report for 2073/74 and program plans for 2074/75. Likewise, Ms. Parbati Kandel, Treasurer presented financial report for 2073/74 and budget for 2074/75. All of these reports were discussed in the forum and approved unanimously. Members delivered their views and suggestions during open Q & A session. Key suggestions from the members are presented below:

  Develop children play ground

  Revisit program communities after project completion

  Design youth-focused programs addressing drug abuse

  Link programs to Sustainable Development Goals

§  Make the member contribution records more systematic


A three-member Election Commission comprised of Mr. Keshab Prasad Sapkota (Coordinator), Mr. Basanta Raj Lamsal (Member) and Ms. Phulu Maya Parajuli (Member) was tasked for election of the new Executive Committee. The Commission underwent the due process and announced the new Executive Committee as follows:

President                     Mr. Hari Lal Sapkota

Vice-President           Ms. Laxmi Gautam (Kandel)

Secretary                     Mr. Krishna Prasad Sapkota

Treasurer                    Ms. Parbati Kandel

Joint-Secretary          Mr. Bhumi Raj Chapagain

Members:                   Mr. Madhab Prasad Poudel

                                     Ms. Rekha Shrestha

                                     Mr. Dip Narayan Sapkota

                                    Mr. Gopi Nath Kharel

                                    Ms. Sita Rijal

View More

LRP - Vegetable Farming 11-20 August 2017

Local Resource Person Development Training on Vegetable Farming

Date: 11 – 20 August 2017 (२०७४ साउन २७ देखि भदौ ०४ सम्म)

Venue: VDRC Chetana Sadan, Gaindakot- 8 Nawalparasi

Time: 9:00 – 17:00 Every day.

Participants:  20 (Solukhumbu, Sindhupalchowk, Nuwakot, Rasuwa, Gorkha, Baglung, Myagdi)

View More

Cancer Health Camp at VDRC-Nepal

At least 40 women availed breast and uterus cancer check-up at a free health camp organized by VDRC-Nepal. The health camp was organized with the technical assistance of Cancer Prevention and Research Department and BP Koirala Memorial Cancer Hospital, Bharatpur.


Inaugurating the health camp, Basanta Raj Lamsal said “the event reflects the organization's commitment to community welfare and women's right to live a healthy life.”


"We organized the event to increase rural women's access to cancer check-up and treatment service since many women have reportedly lost their lives due to breast and uterus cancer in rural areas", said the Board member and Women Group Coordinator, Rekha Shrestha.


The health workers from the cancer hospital, Sharmila Neupane and Manju Sharma provided cancer test services on the occasion. VDRC-Nepal has been organizing several health awareness activities, check-up and treatment camps, and open defecation free campaigns as part of its community health program.

View More

Support to the Earthquake-affected people

Vijay Group of Institutions (VGI) collected NPR 912,223 from the staff of its members and local community along with some packed food and other items for the Earthquake-affected people.


VDRC-Nepal arranged for distribution of the support materials to about 200 households severely affected by the Earthquake in Dhading Chhatre Deurali VDC Ward No 1 Dhunibesi. This activity was accomplished in coordination with the DAO, Red Cross Society and VDC Secretary of Chhatre Deurali.


VGI also supported 50 pieces of tents for the affected households in Gorkha Hanspur Ward No 8.

View More


  • Success Story 03, Nov 2017
  • Hatchery Machine to a VMF 07, Nov 2017
  • [+] View More

    Notice / Vacancies

  • Vacancy Announcement 26, Jul 2017
  • [+] View More

    Contact Us

    Vijaya Development Resource Center

    Gaindakot-8, Vijayanagar, Nawalparasi Nepal
    Tel: +977-78-501100 / 402 / 172
    Fax: +977-78-501172
    Email: vdrc@vdrc.org.np

    Subscribe to Email

    Receive Notifications about VDRC

    Social Links